Seward Mariners Memorial Plaque
Brenda directing.JPG

Who We are

The concept of a mariners’ memorial in Seward began in 2003, via the efforts of the Kenai Fjords Yacht Club and particularly spearheaded by former members Nina Daley and the late Sue Kaanta. The project regained its momentum in 2008 and has steadily progressed towards the reality of a memorial on Seward’s shores honoring those who have lost their lives in waters in close proximity to the port city of Seward or in some way made their mark in Seward’s maritime history. 

Current members of the Seward Mariners’ Memorial Committee consist of:

Mike Glaser, President

Ron Long, Vice President

Deborah Altermatt, Secretary

Nancy Erickson, Treasurer


Arne Hatch

Margaret Anderson

Rhonda Hubbard

Nici Murowsky

Tekla Seavey

Ben Clock

Mission Statement

“To honor the memory of Seward mariners who have lost their lives at sea or contributed to our local seafaring history and maritime history.